Civics Contest Winners image

SAN FRANCISCO—Federal judicial districts throughout the Ninth Circuit have selected their local civics contest winners who will advance as finalists in the preliminary round of the 2024 Ninth Circuit Civics Contest. Forty-two essays and 31 videos are up for consideration to be the next top winners at the circuit level contest. The circuit received 737 essays and 88 video entries.

“70 Years Later—The Legacy of Brown v. Board of Education” was the theme of the civics contest. In addressing the theme, students were asked to discuss the impact they think Brown has had and why. The contest was open to students in grades 9-12 in public, private, parochial and charter schools, and home-schooled students of equivalent grade status, in Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington state, the U.S. Territory of Guam and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

Judging panel members are now reviewing and scoring the essays and videos that advanced to the preliminary round of the Ninth Circuit civics contest. The Ninth Circuit Public Information and Community Outreach (PICO) Committee, composed of judges, court executives and attorneys, will determine the final winners of the contest. PICO is responsible for determining the theme and organizing the contest with support from the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and the 15 federal judicial districts that comprise the Ninth Circuit.

First-place winners at the circuit level will be invited to attend the 2024 Ninth Circuit Judicial Conference, and a total of $11,400 in cash prizes will be awarded to the top three essay and video winners. First place cash prize in each category is $3,000, second place is $1,700 and third place is $1,000. If the winners of the video portion of the contest are part of a team, then they will split the total cash prize.

Circuit winners will be announced on the contest website in June.

District of Montana

Essay Winners: First place ($2,000) – Skylar Pinsondumm, Sentinel High School, Missoula; Second place ($1,000) – Emma Cashell, Corvallis High School, Corvallis; and Third place ($500) – Tayler Wolf, Dawson County High School, Glendive.

Read the entire article here: